Building Character
Who's Who at AYS

Who's Who at AYS

Music Staff

Board of Directors


  • President: Janice Lucero, MVD Express
  • Vice President: Sanja DeGarmo, SSD Design
  • Secretary: Bill Donald, Morgan Stanley Smith Barney
  • Treasurer: Charles Wilkinson, Wells Fargo Bank N.A. - Wealth Management Group


  • Steven Block, Chair of Music Department, University of New Mexico
  • Sam Brandt, X-Ray Associates of New Mexico
  • Jeff Brody, Blue Crow Consulting
  • Winston Brooks, Superintendent, Albuquerque Public Schools
  • Robin Brulé, New Mexico Educators Federal Credit Union
  • Elena Gallegos, Walsh, Anderson, Gallegos, Green & Treviño, P.C.
  • Donna Kao, Co-President, AYS Parents' Association, Sandia National Labs
  • Tom Kao, Co-President, AYS Parents' Association, K.I.C.K., Inc. and Defined Fitness
  • Teena King, Hummingbird Music Camp
  • Mary Lee Martin, Past President, Albuquerque Public Schools (retired)
  • David Peercy, Albuquerque Public Schools Board of Education
  • Kymberly Pinder, Dean, College of Fine Arts, University of New Mexico
  • Karl Schindwolf, SMPC Architects
  • Subhash Shinde, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Kathy Wade, Co-Past President, AYS Parents' Association, Presbyterian Healthcare Services
  • Mark Wade, Co-Past President, AYS Parents' Association, Hartman + Majewski Design Group

Non-Voting Directors, Ex-Officio Members

  • Jessica Webb, Executive Director, Albuquerque Youth Symphony Program, Inc.
  • Gabriel Gordon, Music Director, Albuquerque Youth Symphony Program, Inc.

Administrative Staff

  • Jessica Webb, Executive Director - email
  • Gabriel Gordon, Music Director - email
  • Dale E. Kempter - Music Director Laureate
  • Mary Strong - Chief Administrative Officer - email
  • Katherine Myers - Program and Volunteer Coordinator - email
  • Stacy Tompkins - Development Assistant - email
  • Nancy Bangs - AYSPA Liaison - email
  • Anais Chakerian - Webmaster

AYS Parents' Association

  • Donna and Tom Kao, Co-Presidents
  • Charlie and Stephanie Nakhleh, Co-Vice Presidents
  • Susan Ellenwood, Secretary
  • Barb Berlin, Treasurer
  • Kathy and Mark Wade, Co-Past Presidents

Need to reach someone at the AYS Program? Please email us at or call 875-1319.